Friday, July 18, 2008

Radio HOF Winners

Inductees were named Thursday to the Chicago-based Radio Hall of Fame. Winners included Boston's Howie Carr, who blew past Steve Dahl and two others in the local/regional category, and Dr. James Dobson's "Focus on the Family," which beat Howard Stern and two others in the national category.

Other winners announced Thursday included Art Bell in the national pioneer category, Charlie Tuna in the local/regional pioneer category, and Mickey Luckoff, president and general manager of KGO-AM in San Francisco. As previously announced, posthumous inductees were Bob Collins of WGN and WOKY, Jess Cain of Boston and Dick Whittinghill of Los Angeles.

Winners will be inducted November 8 during a nationally broadcast black-tie event at the Renaissance Chicago Hotel.